Anything app: Appwrite Hashnode Hackathon

Anything app: Appwrite Hashnode Hackathon

Team details

It was developed solely by Teri Eyenike.

Description of project

The Anything app is a simple creation to showcase any activity you wish to accomplish. It could be used as a shopping list, to-do app, or anything else you find interesting to document; Anything app is there for you.

The idea of building this app arose from a situation where I saw another service not Appwrite used, and I decided to turn that around and build something better that serves the same purpose with solely Appwrite.

Tech stack

  • Svelte

  • Appwrite Cloud

    • Databases API
  • Tailwind CSS

  • Vercel

The concept behind using Appwrite for this project was to create a CRUD application for listing the documents on the client side and deleting each document when you decide to change your mind. I chose to use the Databases API because I could add and store the items in Appwrite Cloud and delete an item with a click of a button.

Challenges faced during development

The major challenge I faced while trying to complete this application was trying to leak my environment variables to the public when hosted on GitHub. I overcame this obstacle by trying different methods from the articles I read, especially here.

Public code URL

Anything app is publicly available for contribution. The complete source code is in this repo.

Check out the demo here.

Also worth checking is the demo recording of the app.

Thanks to Appwrite in collaboration with Hashnode for allowing builders to publish their work.