From discomfort to comfort: #JavaScriptmas

From discomfort to comfort: #JavaScriptmas

ยท

3 min read

My experience so far.

The #JavaScriptmas daily challenge has been one of the best decisions I have made as a software developer. I'm enjoying every bit of the lesson and the challenge.

I have always thought of solving JavaScript challenges but never gave myself the opportunity of doing so probably due to fear of not being good enough to understand the challenges and solve them effectively on my own or better still give up.

Participating in this year 24 days of #JavaScriptmas, has taught me the lesson of consistency as a developer as learning and growing never stops.

The #JavaScriptmas challenge is a laudable initiative from Scrimba to keep engaged developers with a basic understanding of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript to test their skills and commit to a streak of 24 uninterrupted days solving a challenge daily. I participated in this to improve my problem-solving skills.

I have learned a lot from this exercise and probably build great projects with this knowledge I have gained so far from these challenges on Scrimba.

Choose Discomfort: It never gets easier till you start.

For this reason, I'm always expectant of the next challenge each day and to remember that there are many ways of solving a challenge (I love using a for loop ๐Ÿ˜œ ).

To summarize, this article is a sort of motivation and a year in review on my progress.

Here are my solutions for the #JavaScriptmas Advent calendar challenge 2020.

Day 1: Candies

Day 2: Deposit profit

Day 3: Chunky monkey

Day 4: Century from year

Day 5: Reverse a string

Day 6: Sort by length

Day 7: Count vowel consonant

Day 8: Rolling Dice

Day 9: Sum odd Fibonacci numbers

Day 10: Adjacent elements Product

Day 11: Avoid obstacles

Day 12: Valid time

Day 13: Extract each Kth

Day 14: Maximal adjacent difference

Day 15: Carousel - I didn't code this solution, inspiration from Justin Lowe.

Day 16: Insert dashes

Day 17: Different symbols naive

Day 18: Array previous less

Day 19: Alphabet subsequence

Day 20: Domain type

Day 21: Sum of two

Day 22: Extract Matrix Column

Day 23: Social Media Character Counter

Day 24: Testing your agility

You can follow me on Twitter